HomeThe Community

Historical Sites

  • PDF
  • Print
  • E-mail
Fort Pilar


Built in June 23, 1635, it is a silent witness to many battles fought by the Spaniards against the Moros.  A witness to the heroic courage of Zamboangueños for their love of freedom.  It is a home to legions of devotees who pay tribute to the miraculous Nuestra Señora La Virgen del Pilar.


Plaza Pershing


A ground for special events, this was originally called the Plaza de Don Juan Salcedo, Spain’s great conquistador. It was renamed Plaza Pershing in honor of Gen. John J. “Blackjack” Pershing who was loved and respected by the Zamboangueños for his achievements.


City Hall


The construction of this building started in 1905 and was completed in 1907 by the Federal Government of the United States of America. The building served to be the official residence of the US military Governor for Mindanao. Today, this serves as the City Hall of Zamboanga where the city mayor holds office.


Petit Barracks


Pettit Barracks was the headquarters and home of the Spanish soldiers until it was turned over to the American troops in 1899, the place was developed into a beautiful barracks, home of the American soldiers and it was named after Col. James S. Pettit of the 31st Infantry U.S. Volunteer Commanding Officer who became the Inspector General and in-charge of civil Affairs of Zamboanga.


Pasonanca Park


One of the country’s premier attractions is the Pasonanca Park, located at the outskirt of the city, about six kilometers from the city proper.  It is referred to as the Little Baguio of the South.  The park was developed in 1912, under Pershing’s administration with one swimming pool.  Pasonanca is nestled about five hundred feet above sea level surrounded by rolling hills and verdant mountains.  Two other pools were constructed under Mayor Climaco’s time. It likewise houses the famous tree house built in 1960, the butterfly sanctuary and the aviary which showcases different bird species including the Philippine Monkey Eating Eagle.


Mayor Climaco Freedom Park

A trip to Pasonanca Park is incomplete without visiting Mayor CCesar limaco FREEDOM PARK formerly the Abong-Abong Park.  Located on upper Pasonanca with a panoramic view of the city.  It can be reached by jeepney on a 15 minute ride.  Going up the hills one can see the fourteen Stations of the Cross.  Today, it is the most popular site to spend the Lenten Season.

Japanese Memorial Shrine

 There are two Japanese Memorial Shrines in the city. One is located in Pasonanca Park  which is 7 kilometers from the city proper. Another is located in Malagutay which is 11 kilometers from the city proper. The shrines are made of marble that came from Japan with names engraved on it in Japanese character.
The names engraved are those of the Japanese soldiers who died during the World War II as they were retreating from the liberating US Forces.



 

Last Updated on Wednesday, 08 February 2006 19:37